Day Zero

I will be honest, I intended to write this so much sooner than I did. Procrastination and laziness are cruel and unavoidable temptations. I had planned to write on the first day of living at college, then I had planned to write after one month of living. Both passed and I was terribly lazy on both days. No more, I said. After hearing my roommate talking about how he loved writing for the online publication Odyssey, I decided it was time to swoop into action.

I don’t intend for this to be a blog specifically pertaining to living with Asperger’s, it’s just a more whatever place for me to write. I find myself becoming increasingly opinionated as time goes on, and I’m going to try to categorize my posts accordingly. Posts pertaining to Asperger’s will be tagged as such, for example.

I want to start just by describing the college experience so far. It’s impossible to sugarcoat it: Going to college for the first time is scary. You’re on your own, you’re meeting new people, and you’re often in a place that you know nothing about. I lived in the same town since I was six, and there was one road out of that town that went to a neighboring town where I went to school until graduating high school. Going out of the state for college was, admittedly, something I didn’t want to do, and I am very glad I’m here. I’ve got roommates and friends that are good people, have common interests, and often understand if I say something I don’t mean. I’m more than thankful to have them.

But of course, there’s also the downsides. With college comes the palpable pressure to be social. There’s certainly a dogma against people who prefer the quiet of their rooms as opposed to spending all their time in someone else’s. I don’t consider myself to be asocial, although I am introverted, and simply prefer to play video games or watch movies. I enjoy spending time with people, but I can only do it for so long. People will come to understand with time, but it can be overwhelming at first. That isn’t to say I haven’t had fascinating conversations with some people into the wee hours of the morning.

It’s an adventure that I’m only just beginning. I’ll write about Asperger’s if something else comes to mind, but expect to see posts about technology, gaming, photography, movies, and any other news or something that I think is interesting.

See you next time.

 

Leave a Reply

