As Time Goes By

It has been a long time since I’ve written here, hasn’t it? The last post was way back when the election ended. Since then, I’ve been in a whirlwind of busy. I had finals, Christmas, reunions, and snowstorms occupying my time, so it was hard to find time to sit down and write. Despite this, of course, I have had many ideas on what to write about.

But I figured it would be smart just to start with a reflection. Firstly, I did pass my first semester of college with all A’s and a 3.7 GPA. My parents were over the moon and so was I. I got to have a very nice, very long Christmas home with my family and I got to see my friends, which was wonderful. I found myself in the peculiar position, though, of returning home when I had finally moved back into my dorm. Rather, I do have my home. A small house in a beach town in Delaware with my mother, father, and dog. We have two elderly neighbors next to us who care for our dog when we’re away. My grandparents live across the street. There’s a small corner shop on the end of the street where I would work during the summer. There’s a new library across the main road. I can walk down to a street full of markets with a coffee shop to get tea and a muffin or over a canal to the beach to get ice cream. It’s a small, unassuming town where I grew up surrounded by family and I would never trade it.

But coming to college, it’s like leaving home…to come home. I live in a much closer world than before. I’m constantly around my friends, just living. We regularly hang out to play video games and watch movies, run into the night in search of mysterious statues, and catch our food on fire in an attempt to cook. College is an interesting place because, while studying and preparing to live for the future, we’re also given the opportunity to just live in the now. The closeness to everyone in our hall is a feeling you really don’t get to experience. While I was certainly more introverted when I first arrived, college has helped me get “out of my shell” and make many friends and acquaintances.

But it hasn’t been easy. Just after I had moved in in August, my girlfriend of over a year ended our relationship. Compounding with anxiety after moving to another place, away from my home, family, and high school friends, I was very much in a bad place. It’s still hard, sometimes, but this is the point where I have to thank my friends and the entire college lifestyle for helping me move on. I’ve been able to go out, to see new things, to hang out, to let go. College is about growth, and I’ve been able to grow out of that state.

So, in short, the first semester of college has been a lot of change. It’s been amazing, hilarious, stressful, and sometimes hurtful. There are times when you’ll feel alone and when you want things to go back to the way they were. But college is all about making friends and meeting new people. They’ll be there for you and everyone wants you to succeed and be the best you can be.

I’ll be writing more as the ideas strike me, and I do have plenty.

See you next time.

Leave a Reply

